top of page
  • Writer's pictureBath Fringe Hub

INTERVIEW: Mark Rutterford

Mark Rutterford chats to the Bath Fringe team about his show, Love. Stories. ❤



How would you describe your ‘Origin Story’ – how did you get started ‘in the business’ and what is it about performing that keeps you going?


An event in Bath called 'Story Friday' changed my life. Captivated in 2012, it took until 2014 for me to write something good enough to be chosen. Performance, I found, was the best thing... ever! I did more, added props, branched out, but what keeps me going is this: the adrenaline, the immediacy of audience reaction, making people laugh and then making them feel something. On stage, I am brave and vulnerable and I am myself, more than anywhere else in the world.


Tell us a little bit about your Bath Fringe 2023 Show


Love. Stories. ❤ is a show about my two favourite things. There are tales of love going well and not so well and there's a view from a visiting alien who just doesn't get it. There are Love Hearts for all, romantics and cynics alike, and the audience decides on the plot of one story and on the world's best love song. The deal is that I'll share my best and worst romantic moments before asking the audience to share some of theirs. It will make every show unique to that night and those people - I promise you, we'll laugh together.

What is it about Fringe Theatre that excites you?


The intimacy of performance and the range of acts are great ingredients for me - I can't wait to see some of the other events and be inspired by them. Bath Fringe Festival is my Fringe debut, so I'm counting the sleeps before sharing what I've got.

What is your favourite thing to do in Bath when you’re not performing?


Shopping for presents - it's my wife's birthday on Christmas Day, so I need to get started! I love it.

What advice would you give to people just starting out?


Believe in yourself and be yourself, but be humble enough to accept feedback and work hard to keep improving. Admire, applaud, support, promote and learn from others - for me it's been other writer-performers, poets, comedians and actors. I did a couple of courses with The Natural Theatre company in Bath too - they were great.

In an alternate universe, what career path might you have followed?


This is an alternative universe - I'm performing my way out of a long career in the civil service. 'Do what you love,' they say - I'm getting there.

If you were a Bath landmark, what would you be and why?


I'd be Twerton Park - home of Bath City FC. A place of raw emotion, laughs and singing - also, in need of an upgrade and with grand plans for the future. 'Come on you stripes!'



 

Love. Stories. ❤ is on at Pocock's Living Room, The Grapes on Friday 26th May and Saturday 10th June. Find out more.


On Tuesday 23rd May you can listen to Mark chatting to BBC Radio Bristol's Adam Crowther on the Upload show!



Follow Mark on Instagram, Facebook or Twitter.


62 views

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page