top of page
  • Writer's pictureBath Fringe Hub

INTERVIEW: Claire Parry

"It's certainly not the admin..." Claire Parry chats to the fringe about how she got started in the 'biz, why you need to come see her fringe show this weekend, and where to find the best brownies in Bath!



How would you describe your ‘Origin Story’ – how did you get started ‘in the business’ and what is it about performing that keeps you going?

I saw a clowning show during 6th form college and was utterly taken by the stupid brilliance of it! I thought how incredible and joyful it must be to do that for a living but assumed a career in theatre was not a viable route for me... until I was at Edinburgh fringe at the end of uni and got a taste for a load of physical theatre and clowning shows there and thought... maybe I can actually have a go?! So I researched where those theatre companies trained - Lecoq and Gaulier came up a lot. I decided on Lecoq (bah oui!), saved up, learnt rudimentary French (voila!), trained in Paris for two years, got better at French and have been playing around in various aspects of theatre, comedy and music ever since! I think the thing that keeps me going is the zinging feeling of aliveness and connection in the room - nothing like it! And what a pleasure to play and laugh and explore together! It's certainly not the admin...


Tell us a little bit about your Bath Fringe 2023 Show

Boorish Trumpson is essentially an interactive power grab transposed into an orchestra rehearsal. It may sound scary and bizarre but it is very fun. It explores power figures who are after power for power's sake rather than any guiding principles and it asks the audience to get involved (no musical talents necessary!) in the dynamics of that process whilst being part of an orchestra rehearsal! There's also loads of clowning, comedy, physical theatre and music as we all play together at the whims of the power hungry Boorish Trumpson, your ambitious, unscrupled rehearsal conductor...


What is it about Fringe Theatre that excites you?


I think Fringe theatre can be so exciting because it can take risks - it's definitely a place to explore and play with what theatre is and what it can be which probably isn't able to happen so much on a commercial scale. Although I'm sure Boorish Trumpson has the West End in his sights, it's definitely the fringe theatre scene that has allowed this type of genre-defying show to exist and connect so joyously with so many audiences who are open to exploring something new.


What is your favourite thing to do in Bath when you’re not performing?

I love Bath, I think it's such a beautiful place! I've been to the Roman baths and thought that was very cool. I also really like that picturesque crescent up the hill and I've also been in some really lovely independent bookshops which I'd definitely do again.

What advice would you give to people just starting out?


HAVE FUN. What is the work that really excites you to make? It can be a really tough process to keep pushing forward in this industry so keep connecting to the creative work that you are here for in the first place. Find ways to make/create regularly - is there a space you can go to? Are there workshops you can attend? That will also help you find a community of artists who are doing the same and you can all support each other. On a practical level - get involved in scratch nights and gigs to test out material and grow networks along the way to creating a whole show.

In an alternate universe, what career path might you have followed?

When I was younger I always secretly thought I'd like to be a composer. I still do make music, but maybe I'd have gone into that properly and composed on an orchestral scale?! There's also a version of me that's entertained the idea of being a surgeon... I like to think I am deft with a needle...


If you were a Bath landmark, what would you be and why?


Probably Pulteney Bridge, mainly because I had a really nice brownie from a shop there and would very happily be a place full of cake.


Any questions you wish we'd asked you?

What do we have to do to ensure the arts are properly supported in this country??! Time to get political.

 

Boorish Trumpson is on at the Rondo Theatre on Saturday 11th June. Book Tickets.


PLUS, Claire is holding a free clowning workshop earlier in the day - find out more.



Follow Claire on Twitter, Instagram & Facebook.

23 views

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page