top of page
  • Writer's pictureBath Fringe Hub

INTERVIEW: Alexandra Pickford

Alexandra Pickford tells us all about her show, Bluffing Your Way in Ballet, with Seizing the Day Company.




How would you describe your ‘Origin Story’ – how did you get started ‘in the business’ and what is it about performing that keeps you going?


I'm a Warminster girl who couldn't stop dancing as a child, so I'm told. Luckily, I found the Bristol School of Dancing at 11 years old and, later, the Royal Ballet School and Company, before joining the English National Ballet and embarking on an international dance career.

Dance to me is a vocation, and continues for your whole life. On retirement from Ballet at 40, I thought I'd never dance again... But I realised that anyone can dance into their old age, and that's what I do!


Tell us a little bit about your Bath Fringe 2023 Show


Bluffing Your Way In Ballet, by Seizing The Day Company, is a witty and irreverent whizz through Ballet and Contemporary Dance history, told by our actors and dancers, and exploring the careers of dance stars such as Isadora Duncan, Nijinsky, Pavlova, Fonteyn, Nureyev and Darcey Bussell! The show is a journey through my heritage as a dancer, from the Renaissance to my creativity today, and features music, dance and the spoken word - there's even a free dance workshop before each show (no experience needed!).

What is it about Fringe Theatre that excites you?


I danced in fringe theatre at 11 years old, so I started early! Fringe Theatre immerses Bath in spectacle and creativity. It's a chance to showcase our production, and it's exciting that there's so many shows to choose from.


What is your favourite thing to do in Bath when you’re not performing?


I love coming to the theatre in Bath. I attended the Ukrainian Ballet recently to give my support. While looking for venues to perform Bluffing Your way in Ballet I've discovered more of Bath's beautiful venues.

I was in a play at The Holburne Museum recently, such a lovely venue.

What advice would you give to people just starting out?


My advice to a dancer starting out would be to find a mentor: someone in the dance world, but not in your organisation. An outside view. I went to The Royal Ballet School at only 16, and I realise now that a guide would have helped me immensely.

In an alternate universe, what career path might you have followed?


I would've loved to study Anthropology! I've never had children but I am fascinated by their behaviour. As I get into the shower each day, I realise how lucky I am to be able to wash in warm water! How is it for the homeless, and people in war torn countries like Ukraine and Sudan? As a dancer one puts oneself into the place of another when playing a role... perhaps my interest in Anthropology comes from that.


If you were a Bath landmark, what would you be and why?


I'd like to be a dancing statue, in Queen Victoria's niche at the Victoria Art Gallery. Very visible, darling! Plus, the statue of Queen Victoria was erected by women.

 

Bluffing Your Way in Ballet is on at the Mission Theatre from Monday 5th - Wednesday 7th June. Book Tickets.


Follow Seizing the Day on Instagram & Facebook.

111 views

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page